Remember This.

Today you were having a tough time falling asleep. I knew you were tired so I curled my body around yours. I held your hand and reassured you that you were fine… You were just sleepy.  As you drifted off into sleep I realized I want to remember all of this.

The way my hand can hold your whole forearm in it and still have your fingers wrapped around just one of my fingers. How, when I’m not holding your hand, you have moments of light sleep where your hands reach up to your face and open and close repeatedly.  The way your eyelashes gently touch your chubby cheeks. How your wispy hair tickles my arm. The way you smell and feel.

One more week where I’m here for all of your naps, your cries, your contagious smiles. I know I’ll still see these on a daily basis, just not as much.

And while I sit at my desk at work, I’ll remember.

I’ll remember this.

3 thoughts on “Remember This.

    • Lisa, I’ve been trying to journal, but it has been hard for me to find the time! Any thoughts on how to get better doing it?

      • My thing with journaling is that it should relieve stress, not increase it. So, do what works for you. And don’t worry about how often or how much (or little) you do. It should fit your personality and season of life. It doesn’t have to be neat and organized.

        Here’s some ideas:

        * The entry you wrote here is journaling in my opinion :)
        * Photos with or without narrative… photo = 1,000 words
        * Bullet points instead of time consuming sentences
        * audio journal – turn on a recorder when you are doing something routine like bath time, bed time, feeding time, and just talk to her about whatever is on your mind.
        * use your calendar or a separate calendar/planner just for her
        * prayer journal – what specific things are you praying for your child/family, what do you hear God saying about those things

        Journaling is just a way of looking back to see what amazing growth God has done in your life and the life of those you write about. Like watching a child grow, when you see them every day it’s harder to notice how amazing the changes are. That’s why we pay photographers, right?

        If it’s not fun, don’t do it. :)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

